Home > CD reviews > Midnattsol – Metamorphosis Melody

Midnattsol – Metamorphosis Melody

text: Helena Torstensson

band: Midnattsol
album: Metamorphosis Melody
genre: symphonic metal – folk
release Date: 20 April 2011
label: Napalm/Border

Midnattsol is a symphonic metal/folk band from Germany and Norway. Formed in 2002 by singer Carmen Elise Espenæs and guitarist Christian Hector.

I have not listened to Midnattsol before and to say that the first song “Alva” took me by surprise would be a huge understatement! The musical arrangements in this instrumental song are simply brilliant and the way it manage to transform so much feeling, that I am pretty much lost for words to describe it. The song really captured me and I can honestly say that I had it on repeat for quite some time before I was ready to move on with listening to the rest of the album.

The first song flows into the second one “The Metamorphosis Melody”, this song kick-off with an intense and very good sounding guitars and violins that thunders along for some time, before Carmen Elise Espenæs voice joins in. I really enjoy the peace in this song and it gets better and better the more I listen to it.

The Tide” begins with simple yet so good performed guitars, followed by Carmen´s beautiful voice. It makes me close my eyes and enjoy the beauty of this song. Then suddenly the song speeds up with the chorus and wonderful guitars and melody take everything higher. Interesting to hear this mix of slow and fast parts, this moving song quickly became a favorite of mine.

The first song released from the album is “Kong Valemons Kamp” this one brings a faster pace with a cool and rougher sound. I like that the way it change and develop with some calmer parts in the middle of all the intense guitars, where you really can enjoy the beauty of Carmen´s voice . “It´s never too late, never too late to fly”, at least it´s worth a try.

Goodbye” is a very moving and emotional song that brings a medieval sound that I adore. This song kind of takes me back in time and with closed eyes I really enjoy the atmosphere that this beautiful song creates. Music, lyrics and vocals reminds me of an old time ballad and I fell head over heels for the charm of this song.

Conclusion
Why have I never listened to this band before? That is the question that hits me as I listen through this album and am having a really good time. But then better late than never when it comes to discovering new bands!

Rating
9/10

Line-up
Carmen Elise Espenæs – vocals
Birgit Öllbrunner – bass
Chris Merzinsky – drums
Daniel Fischer – keyboard
Alex Kautz – guitar 

Website
http://www.midnattsol.com/

Categories: CD reviews
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

