Home > CD reviews > Amorphis – The Beginning Of Times

Amorphis – The Beginning Of Times

band: Amorphis
album: The Beginning Of Times
genre: melancholic rock
release: 27 May 2011
label: Nuclear Blast

Amorphis is a Finnish metal band formed by Jan Rechberger, Tomi Koivusaari and Esa Holopainen in 1990. This band frequently uses the Kalevala, the epic poem of Finland as a source for their lyrics.

On their new album “The Beginning Of Times” the central character in the songs is the iconic hero of Finnish mythology Väinämoinen, whose tale has been retold by lyricist Pekka Kainulainen.

Battle for Light” is the first song on the album and it begins with a melodic keyboard intro; I enjoy hearing the sound of this moving in and out of focus all through the song. First you hear Tomi Joutsensing with lighter vocals, but they are soon replaced with darker ones: it´s cool to hear him change his voice like this. It sounds like two persons are singing. I really enjoy the way the music and vocals are walking hand in hand, and complete each other perfectly.

You I Need” is the first single from the album. A very progressive song, because it has a special keyboard melody. it took me some time to get used to it. Luckily there are also excellent guitar riffs and softer vocals, that saved the song and made it ‘easier’ for my ears. This song comes with a nice video directed by Oliver Sommer.

“Reformation” has a good intro: a beautiful keyboard and soft drums. The sound of this made me want to repett it, because Ifelt in love with it. In this song it´s really a pleasure to listen to Tomi´s voice and the way he tells the story with so much feeling and sincerity. The strong lyrics makes me a bit sad, but every word confinces me and makes this song precious.

“Soothsayer” is an intense and edgy song, that I felt drawn to from the first time I listened to it. It quickly became a strong favorite song on this album. What I like the most  is the guitar melody in the beginning and the dark and growling vocals that fits the music like a dream or nightmare. The sound of the lighter vocals took by surprise at first. If you are in for another surprise: in the middle of the song a female voice is added to Tomi´s voice, creating an interesting duet. The more I listen to this song the more I appreciate the blend of vocals.

Conclusion

I have not listened that much to Amorphis before and honestly I did not expect this album to affect me the way it did. I must say that I am intrigued by the way Tomi Joutsen moves from darker growling vocals to lighter ones and I have enjoyed listening to these changes on the whole album.

Rating
8/10

Tracklist
1. Battle For Light
2. Mermaid
3. My Enemy
4. You I Need
5. Song Of The Sage
6. Three Words
7. Reformation
8. Soothsayer
9. On A Stranded Shore
10. Escape
11. Crack In A Stone
12. Beginning Of Times

Line-up
Tomi Joutsen – Vocals
Esa Holopainen  – Guitar
Tomi Koivusaari – Guitar
Santeri Kallio – Keyboards
Niclas Etelävouri – Bass
Jan Rechberger – Drums

Website
http://amorphis.net/


Categories: CD reviews
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

