Home > News > Autumn – details ‘Cold Comfort’ album and tour

Autumn – details ‘Cold Comfort’ album and tour

Dutch heavy rock collective Autumn make a return to the front line with their new album “Cold Comfort.” It will be released November 4th- 7th via Metal Blade Records in Europe!

This is the band’s fifth full-length effort, their third for Metal Blade Records. It offers a collection of striking songs blended into a diverse and yet surprisingly compact album, one that Autumn considers to be their most personal and meaningful to date.

While the roots remain firmly planted in heavy rock/guitar-oriented soil, their branches are stretching out to more progressive musical genres and alternative approaches to the sound of individual songs.

Guitarist Jens van der Valk elaborates: “In terms of sound we realized there were still leaps to be taken out of our comfort zone and into unthought-of possibilities. As a first step in the right direction, our main focus was on a more open, transparent sound, one through which the often multi-layered nature of our songs would be optimally channeled.”

Autumn needed not look far for a man to put at the helm with the right pioneering philosophy for the band to begin taking leaps: Erik-Jan Dodd,  live sound engineer since the “My New Time” era, envisioned a more vintage approach for “Cold Comfort“.

An experiment the band was all too eager to embrace, explains guitarist Mats van der Valk. “If there’s anyone who knows what we’re all about and more importantly: what we could potentially be all about, it’s E-J.”

Cold Comfort will be released November 4th- 7th in Europe as a limited first edition digipak-CD including two bonus tracks. Pre-order options at www.metalblade.com/autumn.


1. The Scarecrow
2. Cold Comfort
3. Black Stars In A Blue Sky
4. Retrospect
5. Alloy
6. End Of Sorrow
7. Naeon
8. Truth Be Told (Exhale)
9. The Venamoured
10. Changes For The Bitter (Digi-bonus)
11. The Mute (Inhale) (Digi-bonus)


Marjan Welman – vocals
Jerome Vrielink- bass
Jan Munnik – keyboards
Jan Grijpstra – drums
Mats van der Valk – guitar, grunts and backing vocals
Jens van der Valk – guitar and backing vocals


04/11/11 – NL – Sneek – Bolwerk
05/11/11 – NL – Hoorm – Manifesto
11/11/11 – NL – Roermond – Azijnfabriek
17/11/11 – NL – Amstelveen – P60
18/11/11 – NL – Den Haag – Bazart
19/11/11 – NL – Zierikzee – Brogum
26/11/11 – NL – Zeist – Peppel


Source: MetalBlade Records newsletter

Categories: News Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: