Home > CD reviews > Garbage – Not Your Kind Of People

Garbage – Not Your Kind Of People

text: Helena Torstensson
band: Garbage
album: Not Your Kind Of People
genre: Alternative/Rock
release: 14 May 2012
label: Stunvolume

Garbage is an alternative rock band formed in Madison, Wisconsin in 1994. Their self titled debut album was released in 1995, it became a huge hit and contains songs like “Only Happy When It Rains” and “Stupid Girl”. In 1998 they followed up their previous success with ‘Version 2.0‘  and ‘Beautiful Garbage‘ in 2001.

Bleed Like Me‘ was released in April 2005 and in August of the same year Garbage announced an “indefinite hiatus” that ended in 2007 when they released their greatest hits album ‘Absolute Garbage’. In October 2010 the work with their fifth album started and ‘Not Your Kind Of People’ is released 14 May 2012 via the bands own label Stunvolume Records.

Automatic Systematic Habit” is an energetic and catchy opening with strong lyrics. It works very well to introduce the Garbage of 2012. Rough guitars fits perfectly with Shirley Manson’s sure and special voice.

The first and official single is “Blood For Poppies”, this song is a little contradictive for me: I am honestly not that font of the “funkier sound” yet. I enjoy the edgy guitar melody that returns all through the song and I am impressed the way Shirley sings. The more I listen to it the more it grows. The song comes with a black and white video directed by the fashion photographer Matt Irwin.

“I Hate Love” quickly becomes a favorite song; I instantly fell for the synth-pop sound. To me it feels very fresh and it brings an intense feeling. As the song develops I am relaxing and really enjoying the musical ride that it takes me on. The chorus easily gets stuck on your mind and the music is mixed in an excellent way. The lyrics are cool and I easily connect with them.

An other song that really makes an impression on me, is the sensual “Sugar.” You get the table set with a simple, but  beautiful melody. It makes me shiver,  such a beautiful music. A slow intro leads you on to the moment when Shirley carefully starts to tell the story of the song. I adore the way she phrase the words and am really impressed by the slight changes in the tempo. It occurs with such ease, as the song carries on, and flows through the chorus.

“Battle In Me” is the lead single exclusively chosen for the UK. It is the first song that I heard from the album and I think it works better than the other single. I love the raw energy that this song brings me; excellent songwriting. it reaches an intense chorus when drums and guitars demand more attention.

Conclusion

‘Not Your Kind Of People’ is an album of my taste, because all the songs (and one in particular) easily become favorites. Also it sounds very much like Garbage. It’s interesting to listen to the well written songs. The more you listen to this fifth album, the more details you discover. Some songs are pretty overwhelming the first time you listen to them. Also the strong lyrics deserve attention;  all too quickly it gets stuck on my mind.

Garbage have always hold a special place in my musical heart, songs like “Only Happy When It Rains”, “You Look So Fine” and “Cherry Lips (Go Baby Go)” are big hits and I still enjoy listening to them. ‘Not Your Kind Of People’ shows a band that stays true to themselves and still want to develop their sound further to a successful future.

Rating
9/10

Tracklist
1. Automatic Systematic Habit
2. Big Bright World
3. Blood For Poppies
4. Control
5. Not Your Kind Of People
6. Felt
7. I hate Love
8. Sugar
9. Battle In Me
10. Man On A Wire
11. Beloved Freak 

Line-up
Shirley Manson – vocals, guitar
Butch Vig – drums, percussion
Duke Erikson – bass guitar, keyboards,
Steve Marker- guitar, keyboards

Website
http://garbage.com/

Categories: CD reviews Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

