Home > CD reviews > Sonata Arctica – Stones Grow On Her Name

Sonata Arctica – Stones Grow On Her Name

text: Helena Torstensson
band: Sonata Arctica
album: Stones Grow On Her Name
genre: Power metal
release: 18 May 2011
label: Nuclear Blast

Sonata Arctica is a Finnish power metal band that was formed in 1995 by Marko Paasikoski, Jani liimatainen and Tommy Portimo. Tony Kakko and Pentti Peura joined the band in 1996. From the beginning the band was called ‘Tricky Beans’ and  in 1997 they changed it to ‘Tricky Menas’. The final name change came in 1999 when they became Sonata Arctica.

There have been some line-up changes through the years, the current one consist of Tony Kakko (vocals), Elias Viljanen (guitar), Marko Paasikoski (bass), Henrik Klingenberg (keyboards) and Tommy Portimo (drums). The debut album “Ecliptica” was released in 1999, ‘Stones Grow Her Name’ is the seventh album by Sonata Arctica.

Only The Broken Hearts (Make You Beautiful)” is the first song and it is a very catchy beginning. It works very well to give an  introduction of their new sounds. It begins with an remindful intro and a melody that I enjoy a lot. Followed by Tony Kakko’s vocals; it fits together very well and the chorus easily gets stuck on my mind.

The first single from the album is “I Have A Right” and it begins with the chorus line sung with a lot of feeling and the words sure are thought worthy. Flowing music and a good melody, makes it a pleasure to listen to this song. The strong lyrics bring a clever play with words that is worth thinking about. This song is one of the strongest ones on the album. A  video is directed by Tuukka Temonen.

Cinderblox” is a special and different song. I wasn’t able to get a handle on it the first time I listened to it. Also I didn’t like it that much when I started listening  through the songs. But after giving it some time, to my surprise,  it grew on me. Once I was used to the melody more details were revealed. Like the dynamic banjo and energy.


After spending some time listening to “Stones Grow On Her Name” it leaves me with a feeling of contradictions. I thought that the songs would grow on me the more I listened to them. But only three songs managed to achieve that. If the album was more in the line of “Only The Broken Hears (Makes You Beautiful)” and “I Have A Right” then I would have enjoyed this album much more. The end result is simply too uneven, and some songs are too hard to understand in my opinion.


1. Only The Broken Hearts (Make You Beautiful)
2. Shitload O’ Money
3. Losing My Insanity
4. Somewhere Close To You
5. I Have A Right
6. Alone In Heaven
7. The Day
8. Cinderblox
9. Don´t Be Mean
10. Wildlife Part II – One With The Mountain
11. Wildlife Part III – Wildfire Town Population

Tony Kakko – vocals
Elias Viljanen – guitar
Marko Paasikoski – bass
Henrik Klingenberg – keyboards
Tommy Portimo – drums


Categories: CD reviews Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: