Home > CD reviews > Sleepthief – Mortal Longing (single)

Sleepthief – Mortal Longing (single)

text: Helena Torstensson
band: Sleepthief
album: Untitled
genre: Electronic
release: 11th June 2012
label: Echotone Records

Sleepthief is an American electronic music recording project. Formed by producer and composer Justin Elswick. The debut album ‘The Dawnseeker’ was released in 2006 and his second album ‘Labyrinthine Heart‘ followed in 2009.

At the moment Elswick is working on a new EP and the first single from it will be “Mortal Longing” featuring Jody Quine. The single will be released the 11th of June and the video is already released on 4th of June.

Mortal Longing” is the first single from the upcoming EP and it has a guest appearance of Jody Quine. She is a singer-songwriter from Canada and worked with Elswick before in 2002.

The more I listen to this emotional song, the more I fall for its charm. It opens with an intro that quickly sets the atmosphere. Soon everything pauses and beautifully Jody Quine starts to sing. What I enjoy is, that the song hold the same pace with little variations.

The song creates an dreamy sensation and it gives the listener something extra. I really like the video of this song, because it fits perfectly with the melody. The video is directed by Eric Hueber and Justin Elswick.

Conclusion

To me listening to this song takes some time. Because music and vocals demand my attention and it is really hard to focus on both at the same time, without drifting away. Of course I hear the overall impression. Only focusing on the details makes me smile by the pleasure it brings to my ears. A very promising start of a new EP.

Rating
9/10 

Website
http://sleepthiefmusic.com/

Categories: CD reviews Tags:
  1. Annelien
    25/06/2012 at 07:21

    greets from across the world! I like your review and thanks for sharing. take care

  1. 05/01/2013 at 00:48

Leave a comment